Governance Structure

IHEEM is governed by the Council and the President who all are trustees of the Institute. The Council meet three times per year and are supported by seven administration staff at the head office in Portsmouth.

The President is nominated by Past Presidents and serves for a maximum term of two years.

The Council consists of 12 trustees who are selected for their expertise from each of the twelve IHEEM Branches within the UK. Appointments are approved by the Institute at the Annual General Meeting with one third of the trustees retiring each year; a trustee can only be reappointed once. 

The Council has formed six standing Committees to conduct the activities of the Institute.

All Committee Chairs are appointed by the Council and are responsible for populating their Committees. 

The Council retains all powers that are not delegated to Committees.